WPGA Spring Stroke Play Championship

The 13th hole at Hannastown Golf Club, host of the 2021 Spring Stroke Play Championship.

The competition began in 1994 and marks the beginning of the championship season. The competition began as an invitational for Member Club champions, winners of Association championships and other players of note are invited. Since then it has evolved into a full field open competition with club champions of WPGA Member Clubs having exempt status to the field.

The trophy is named for Jack Benson, South Hills, who won six West Penn Amateurs between 1934 & 1954. Three players have multiple victories. Nathan Smith has won the event six times, Sean Knapp has won three titles and Rick Stimmel two. The scoring record is held by Smith. Smith carded 68-66--134 at Williams in 2009. The name of the event was changed to the Spring Invitational in 2008, and to the Spring Stroke Play Championship in 2012.

Championship Information

29th Spring Stroke Play Championship
May 31, 2022

Hannastown Golf Club
Apply to Play
Past Champions & Previous Results