Nine named to Frank Fuhrer III Collegiate Player of the Year watch list

Posted March 29, 2017 - Western Pennsylvania Golf Association - Contact

Brent Rinker teeing off in the 2016 West Penn Amateur at Bedford Springs Resort.

Each season the WPGA tracks the statistics of collegiate golfers who grew up playing the courses of Western Pennsylvania. The spring session of the 2016-17 college golf season is under way, and student athletes from our area are making their mark. Now in its 16th year, the WPGA Frank Fuhrer III Collegiate Player of the Year Award is designated to recognize outstanding golf performance from a collegiate player hailing from Western Pennsylvania. Nine area players are recognized for their success thus far in the college golf season by being named to the Fuhrer Award Watch List. Three players on the list have been medalist in at least one college tournament this season, while three players have notched a runner-up finish. Two on the list have previously won WPGA Championships. The list’s nine players have combined for eleven Top 10 finishes in college competition this season.

2016-17 Frank Fuhrer III Collegiate Player of the Year Watch List

Andy Butler, Oakmont, PA (Villanova University) Junior
Sean Edgar, Bethel Park, PA (Clarion University) Senior
Collin Haag, Sewickley, PA (Allegheny College) Senior
Max Kirsch, Ebensburg, PA (Indiana University of Pennsylvania) Senior
Christopher Kupniewski, Erie, PA (Mercyhurst University) Senior
Corey Long, McDonald, PA (St. Bonaventure University) Junior
Andrew Reynolds, Plum, PA (LaSalle University) Sophomore
Brett Rinker, Slippery Rock, PA (Bowling Green University) Senior
Thomas Steve, Upper St. Clair, PA (University of Notre Dame) Junior

The 2016-17 season watch list includes 5 seniors, 3 juniors and 1 sophomore with student athletes competing at colleges in the states of Indiana, New York, Ohio and Pennsylvania. Other players may be added to the watch list prior to the selection of finalists based on continued season performance.

The Fuhrer Award is named in honor of Frank Fuhrer III. Now a businessman in Pittsburgh, Mr. Fuhrer’s accomplishments on the golf course include being named All-American at University of North Carolina Chapel Hill from 1979-1981, All ACC 1979-1981, named to the 1981 U.S. Walker Cup team, winner of the 1981 Western Amateur and the winner of 11 Western Pennsylvania Golf Association Championships. Mr. Fuhrer and Arnold Palmer are the only two players in the Association’s history to win the WPGA Junior, Amateur and Open Championships in a career. Mr. Fuhrer was the #2 ranked Amateur in the United States in 1981 and is one of the leading supporters of the WPGA. Previous recipients include Mike Van Sickle, Justin Smith, Rachel Rohanna and Robert Rohanna.

More information on the Frank Fuhrer III Award