West Penn Spring Stroke Play Championship

The competition began in 1994 and marks the beginning of the championship season. The competition began as an invitational for Member Club champions, winners of Association championships and other players of note are invited. Since then it has evolved into a full field open competition with club champions of WPGA Member Clubs having exempt status to the field.


From left to right. 2008 Champion William Miller, 2006 Champion David Brown, & 2011 Champion Rick Baloh.

The trophy is named for Jack Benson, South Hills, who won six West Penn Amateurs between 1934 & 1954. Three players have multiple victories. Nathan Smith has won the event six times, Sean Knapp has won three titles and Rick Stimmel two. The scoring record is held by Smith. Smith carded 68-66--134 at Williams in 2009. The name of the event was changed to the Spring Invitational in 2008, and to the Spring Stroke Play Championship in 2012.