Boys Championships

Lindenwood Golf Club, host of the 2018 Boys Championships.

Serving as an introduction to the Association's championship program, the Boys Championship has compiled an impressive list of local players that continued to capture titles after serving their apprenticeships in junior golf. The event is open to all junior boys age fifteen or younger that reside in Western Pennsylvania or belong to a WPGA Member Club. Unfortunately, Association records only date to 1977 though it is certain that the first championship was held before. In 1996, a separate championship was started for junior boys age thirteen year of age or younger and in 2015 a championship for Boys 8-10 was created.

Former champions include Nathan Smith (winner of four USGA Mid-Amateur Championships), Arnold Cutrell (winner of six individual WPGA titles) and William Miller (winner of both the Boys & Junior Championship in 2004).

Two players have won the Overall Championship twice, John Aber (1983-84) and Donald Thomas (2002-2003). Tom Nettles (2007-08) and Luke Miller (2009-10) have captured the age 13 & Under trophy twice. In 2012, Luke Miller joined Donald Thomas and Easton Renwick as the only players to capture victory in both age categories.

Championship Information

59th Boys Championship • June 25, 2018
Lindenwood Golf Club
Event Portal • Results
Past Champions & Previous Results